Consulting services

The staff of the Centre has wide expertise and can offer high-quality consultancy services to academic, expert, and business communities. The Centre can also engage other specialists from the Bank as well as an extended pool of professionals in the countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States and outside it.

Areas of the Centre’s expertise:

  • investment opportunities in the Eurasian Economic Union;
  • assessment of the effectiveness and prospects of investment projects in CIS countries;
  • analysis of various economic sectors of the Bank’s member states and other CIS states;
  • economical and legal analysis of integration agreements and structures within the former Soviet Union.


In 2017, EDB Centre for Integration Studies carried out the following consulting activities:

  • Project for Research Center “International Trade and Integration”

Subject matter: development of transport corridors within the framework of the Belt and Road Initiative, analytical review of cargo flows in weight and value terms, preparation of proposals regarding localization of a logistical hubs network in the territory of the Russian Federation, development of recommendations on possible creation of an interlinked system of transport hubs and logistical centers in the territory of EAEU member states subject to the prospects of expansion of emerging trans-Eurasian transport corridors along the PRC-EAEU-EU axis and growth of associated traffic flows.

  • Project for Plekhanov Russian University of Economics

An agreement has been concluded with the Plekhanov Russian University of Economics to complete certain research works, including analytical review of investment flows between the EAEU and the EU, the ASEAN, East Asian countries, etc., on the basis of an ongoing EDB Centre for Integration Studies’ project “Monitoring of Mutual Investments”, and development of recommendations on investment regimes to be used in dealings with those countries and associations. The purpose of the project is to design various options and algorithms for cooperation between the Eurasian Economic Union, third countries, and mega-regional associations (including the newly created Comprehensive Regional Economic Partnerships), and new models for interaction with ASEAN, APEC, SCO and EU member states subject to emerging opportunities for efficient realization of the guidelines of international cooperation, and for effective expansion of economic ties between the EAEU and third countries within the context of the Greater Eurasia Partnership project.

  • Project for the Eurasian Economic Commission

Consulting on financial statistics matters, and provision of analytical materials on the basis of the ongoing EDB Centre for Integration Studies’ project “Monitoring of Mutual Investments”. The need for cooperation arose due to implementation of the EAEU Program for Development of Integration in the Area of Statistics for 2016-2020 envisaging introduction of international standards. The EDB Centre for Integration Studies provides to the EEC consulting services on international financial statistics standards in the form of workshops, videoconferences, and written consultations with the participation of experts from the OECD and the National Bank of Belgium.

In 2016, the EDB Centre for Integration Studies implemented a consulting project commissioned by the Russian Foreign Trade Academy under the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation for the benefit of the EEC within the framework of a research project styled Comprehensive Analysis of Opportunities and Prospects of Interfacing the Main Directions of Integration and Infrastructural Development of the Eurasian Economic Union and the Silk Road Economic Belt within the Context of Creation of New Global Economic Partnerships and the Changes Occurring in the Global Economic System.

One of the priority areas of international activity of the EAEU is interaction with its trade and economic partners, including the People's Republic of China. In 2016, N.A. Nazarbayev, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Chairman of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, addressed the heads of EAEU member states with an initiative designed to expand trade and economic ties between the EAEU and its main partners and emerging markets, and give an impetus to the process of enhancing the role of the EAEU in the Eurasian continent.

The research provides scientific, methodological, informational, and analytical substantiation of the interface between the EAEU and the SREB, and formulates specific proposals regarding forward-looking forms of cooperation within the framework of the interface process that will be consistent with the national interests of all EAEU member states, support diversification of their economies and expansion of cooperative ties between them, and contribute to their economic growth based on continued sustainable development of integration processes in the Eurasian space, subject to the changes occurring in the global economic system.

In 2015 the EDB Centre for Integration Studies was engaged in the large-scale project aimed at analysis of monetary and financial integration in the EAEU. On March 10, 2015 President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin addressed the Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia) and the Russian Government with the request to elaborate on the issues of monetary integration in the EAEU. This task raised a huge discussion among the experts and government officials. However until now there was a lack of professional economic knowledge and expertise on this topic. The abovementioned project of EDB Centre for Integration Studies substantially fills this gap.

Coordinated monetary and fiscal policy in the EAEU countries would allow the dissolution of the cross-country monetary risks in the EAEU and, thus, would lead to cost reduction in mutual trade and investments. The latter would expand the benefits for the EAEU countries from the more intensive economic cooperation with each other.

In 2014, as a part of its consultancy services, the Centre implemented the following projects:

“Expanding the DSGE model complex with new sectors and country blocs”
Time frame: 2014 Q2 — 2014 Q4.
Executors: the EDB Centre for Integration Studies, OGResearch

In 2013 the EDB Centre for Integration Studies in cooperation with the Eurasian Economic Commission has completed a major joint-project, aiming to develop a DSGE model complex for economic forecasting and policy analysis. Since 2014 the complex has been successfully used to form medium-term forecasts and economic policy recommendations. In 2014 the Centre implemented a paid consulting project aiming to expand the analytical capabilities of the current model complex. By the end of 2014 two general equilibrium models for Kyrgyzstan and Armenia were built. Alongside a new block of econometric models was developed for the sake of more detailed forecasts of the macroeconomic situation in five countries — Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Armenia.

“Assessment of the economic effects from abolition of non-tariff barriers to mutual trade in the EEU”
Time frame: 2014 Q1 — 2014 Q4.
Executors: the EDB Centre for Integration Studies

In 2014 the EDB Centre for Integration Studies started a large paid consulting project aiming to determine the economic effects from the abolition of non-tariff barriers to trade in the CU. The project was initiated by the Ministry of Economic Development of the Republic of Belarus. The customer and the beneficiary of the project was the Eurasian Economic Commission. The project involved both the qualitative and quantitative analysis of this problem. The Centre analyzed international experience and methodology for determining non-tariff barriers in trade and for assessing economic effects from their mutual abolition. A classification and analysis of the preliminary list of exceptions, limitations, and other barriers to mutual trade prepared by the Commission are performed on the criteria of relevance for each individual state. Business surveys were conducted for more than 500 enterprises in Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia. For quantitative evaluation of the economic effects from mutual abolition of barriers the respective social accounting matrices were made for all the countries in the Union. Then a computable general equilibrium model was constructed, based on which the estimation of economic benefits from abolition of barriers was done.

“Financial Programming of Major Economic Sectors of the SES States”
Time frame: 4th quarter 2012 — 2nd quarter 2013.
Executor: the Eurasian Development Bank

Within the framework of its consultancy services the EDB divisions have been implementing the project aimed to create a system of financial programming models of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan for the benefit of the Eurasian Economic Commission. Similar models are widely used by international financial organizations. They are meant to become a tool for the short-term forecasting of the Single Economic Space economy by the Eurasian Commission. The project was a team-work of the EDB Analytical Department, EurAsEU Anti-Crisis Fund and the EDB Centre for Integration Studies.

“Development of the system of analysis and macroeconomic forecasting in the SES on the basis of dynamic computable general equilibrium models (DSGE)”
Time frame: 2nd quarter — 4th quarter 2013.
Executors: the EDB Centre for Integration Studies, OGResearch

This is a major consulting project aiming at the creation of a comprehensive DSGE econometric modeling system. DSGE models wouldl provide the Eurasian Economic Commission with a powerful and flexible mid-term forecasting tool. It would substantially widen its abilities to do quantitative macroeconomic analysis, including budget and fiscal policies, and build mutually beneficial relationships with research institutions, government bodies and monetary authorities.

Консалтинговые услуги

Центр готов к оказанию консалтинговых услуг широкому научному, экспертному и бизнес-сообществу. ЦИИ не только обладает собственной экспертизой, но и может подключать специалистов других подразделений Банка, а также широкий пул профильных специалистов, представляющих страны СНГ и дальнего зарубежья.

  • анализ инвестиционных возможностей в контексте ТС, ЕЭП и строительства Евразийского экономического союза;
  • оценка эффективности и перспектив реализации инвестиционных проектов в странах СНГ;
  • анализ состояния и динамики развития отдельных отраслей экономик государств-участников Банка и других стран СНГ;
  • экономический и правовой анализ интеграционных соглашений и структур на постсоветском пространстве.


В 2016 году ЦИИ ЕАБР реализовал проект консалтинга по заказу ВАВТ Минэкономразвития РФ в интересах ЕЭК в рамках научно-исследовательской работы на тему «Комплексный анализ возможностей и перспектив сопряжения основных направлений интеграционного и инфраструктурного развития Евразийского экономического союза и Экономического пояса Шелкового пути в контексте формирования новых глобальных экономических партнерств и изменений, происходящих в мировой экономической системе».

Одним из приоритетных направлений международной деятельности ЕАЭС является взаимодействие с его торгово-экономическими партнерами, в том числе с Китайской Народной Республикой. В 2016 году Президент Республики Казахстан, Председатель Высшего Евразийского экономического совета Н.А. Назарбаев обратился к главам государств – членов ЕАЭС с инициативой о расширении торгово-экономических связей ЕАЭС с основными партнерами и новыми растущими рынками, что должно стать импульсом для повышения роли ЕАЭС на всем континенте.

В исследовании было дано научно-методическое и информационно-аналитическое обоснование сопряжения ЕАЭС и ЭПШП с выработкой конкретных предложений о перспективных формах сотрудничества в рамках процесса сопряжения, отвечающих национальным интересам всех государств – членов ЕАЭС, обеспечивающих диверсификацию их экономики и повышение кооперационных связей между ними и способствующих их экономическому росту за счет дальнейшего поступательного развития интеграционных процессов на евразийском пространстве и с учетом изменений, происходящих в мировой экономической системе.

В 2015 году Центром интеграционных исследований ЕАБР был реализован масштабный проект, нацеленный на анализ процессов валютно-финансовой интеграции в ЕАЭС. 10 марта 2015 года Президент России Владимир Путин поручил ЦБ РФ и Правительству РФ до 1 сентября 2015 года внести предложения по теме валютной интеграции в ЕАЭС. Это поручение вызвало бурную дискуссию экспертов и представителей государственных органов. Однако до сих пор в экономическом сообществе ощущается острая нехватка профессионального анализа данной проблемы. Данное исследование ЦИИ ЕАБР в значительной степени восполняет этот пробел.

Проведение согласованной монетарной и фискальной политики на базе уже существующего ЕАЭС может привести к ликвидации валютных межстрановых рисков в ЕАЭС и, соответственно, к сокращению издержек взаимной торговли и инвестиций. Это должно увеличить преимущества, получаемые странами ЕАЭС от более интенсивного взаимодействия в экономических отношениях друг с другом.

В 2014 году в рамках консалтинговых услуг были реализованы следующие проекты:

«Расширение возможностей и странового охвата модельного комплекса DSGE»
Сроки исполнения: II-IV квартал 2014 года.
Исполнители: Центр интеграционных исследований ЕАБР и OGResearch

В 2013 году завершился крупный совместный с ЕЭК проект по созданию модельного комплекса DSGE. C 2014 года комплекс успешно используется ЕЭК и ЦИИ ЕАБР для формирования среднесрочных прогнозов и рекомендаций в области макроэкономической политики. В 2014 году в рамках возмездного консалтинга ЦИИ реализовал проект по расширению аналитических возможностей данного комплекса моделей. К концу 2014 года были построены модели общего равновесия экономик Кыргызстана и Армении, а также разработан новый блок эконометрических моделей для более детального прогнозирования макроэкономической ситуации в пяти странах — России, Беларуси, Казахстана, Кыргызстана и Армении.

«Определение экономического эффекта отмены государствами — членами ТС изъятий, ограничений и барьеров во взаимной торговле»
Сроки исполнения: I-IV квартал 2014 года.
Исполнители: Центр интеграционных исследований ЕАБР

В 2014 году стартовал крупный проект платного консалтинга ЦИИ ЕАБР по определению экономических эффектов отмены нетарифных барьеров торговли на территории ТС. Инициатором проекта выступило Министерство экономического развития Республики Беларусь. Заказчиком и бенефициаром проекта являлась ЕЭК. Проект предполагал качественный и количественный анализ данной проблематики. ЦИИ провел анализ международного опыта и методологии определения нетарифных барьеров во взаимной торговле и экономического эффекта от их взаимной отмены. Была проведена классификация и анализ предварительного перечня изъятий и иных ограничений и барьеров во взаимной торговле ЕЭП, подготовленного ЕЭК, по критериям значимости для каждого в отдельности государства-участника ЕЭП. Были проведены бизнес-опросы более 500 предприятий в Беларуси, Казахстане и России. Для численной оценки экономического эффекта взаимной отмены государствами-участниками ЕЭП изъятий, ограничений и барьеров во взаимной торговле были подготовлены матрицы социальных счетов для изучаемых стран. Затем была построена прикладная модель общего равновесия для стран ЕЭП, на основе которой осуществлялся расчет экономического эффекта отмены государствами-участниками ЕЭП изъятий, ограничений и барьеров во взаимной торговле.

В 2013 году были реализованы следующие проекты:

«Финансовое программирование основных секторов экономик государств-участников Единого экономического пространства»
Сроки исполнения: IV квартал 2012 года — II квартал 2013 года
Исполнитель: Евразийский банк развития

В рамках оказания услуг платного консалтинга был реализован проект по созданию для нужд Евразийской экономической комиссии системы моделей финансового программирования России, Беларуси и Казахстана. Эти модели широко используются международными финансовыми институтами. В ЕЭК они должны стать инструментом для краткосрочного прогноза динамики экономик ЕЭП. Проект был выполнен совместными усилиями АУ, АКФ и ЦИИ ЕАБР.

«Построение системы анализа и прогнозирования макроэкономической политики в ЕЭП на основе динамических стохастических моделей общего равновесия»
Сроки исполнения: II-IV квартал 2013 года.
Исполнители: Центр интеграционных исследований ЕАБР и OGResearch

В мае 2013 года стартовал крупный совместный с ЕЭК проект по созданию модельного комплекса DSGE. Данные модели обеспечили потребности ЕЭК в долгосрочном прогнозировании; существенно расширили возможности по количественному анализу макроэкономических процессов, включая вопросы согласования бюджетной и денежно-кредитной политики.

В рамках проекта с 20 по 31 мая 2013 года в Санкт-Петербурге прошел двухнедельный семинар, на котором сотрудники Банка и ЕЭК совместно с европейскими коллегами работали над созданием первой модели по российской экономике. В течение 2013 года были запланированы еще три подобных семинара.