Piloting the Travelling without COVID app is a success: Armenian and Belarusian delegations to the First Eurasian Congress cross the Russian border with the app

04 December 2020

Moscow, 3 December 2020. The Travelling without COVID app developed by the Digital Initiative Fund of the Eurasian Development Bank (EDB DIF) was successfully tested today. Participants in the First Eurasian Congress from Yerevan and Minsk crossed the Russian Federation border at Moscow’s Sheremetyevo International Airport with the help of the app.

The project had been presented at a meeting of the Intergovernmental Council of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU, uniting Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and Russia) and then piloted in three countries – Armenia, Belarus, and Russia.

Travelling without COVID is the first project by the EDB Digital Initiative Fund. The app is expected to ensure free and safe movement of EAEU citizens within the Union in the context of the coronavirus pandemic and, later on, in other countries that will join the project. The digital solution reduces the risk of the spread of the disease and offers a reliable control system at the intercountry level.

When a person gets tested in the country of departure, the laboratory submits the results to the national system, and they appear as a QR code in the app installed on that person’s mobile device. EAEU regulatory authorities can read those QR codes to verify test results. Hotels, restaurants, and airlines, among others, may also access test results if the user lets them scan the QR code.

The system prevents the transmission of personal data across borders. All user-related information is stored only at the national level where the testing takes place. This ensures personal data protection in accordance with national laws.

“It is also planned to add COVID-19 vaccination and health insurance records in the system. The app is available on iOS and Android-based mobile devices. Should the further piloting of the app be successful, the decision to launch it for daily use in all EAEU countries – Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and Russia – will be made at the intergovernmental level,” said Tigran Sargsyan, Deputy Chairman of the EDB Management Board.

Additional Information:

The Eurasian Development Bank (EDB) is an international financial institution promoting integration and development in its member countries – Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Russia, and Tajikistan. The EDB's charter capital totals US $7 billion. The Bank was established in January 2006 by Russia and Kazakhstan and is headquartered in Almaty. Transport infrastructure, energy, chemical, mining, and mechanical engineering projects with a high integration effect account for the main part of the EDB’s portfolio.

The EDB Media Centre:

Alexander Savelyev +7 (985) 765 23 59 (Moscow)

Azima Sapargaliyeva +7 (777) 750 00 08 (Almaty)

Sergey Gorbachev +7 (916) 727 22 00 (Moscow)



Back to the list

We use cookies to take account of your preferences and improve your experience on our website. We assume that by continuing to use our website you agree with our use of cookies. You can always configure your Internet browser to refuse to have cookies saved by our website.

Yes More